Contact Careers rss


The Enterprise Council is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the Enterprise in conjunction with the Secretariat.

Enterprise Council Members include:

  • Dr. Rafi Ahmed (Enterprise Science Committee Chair; Emory University)
  • Dr. Seth Berkley (Principal representing the International AIDS Vaccine Initiative/IAVI)
    • (Alternate representing IAVI: Dr. Wayne Koff)
  • Dr. Jean-François Delfraissy [Principal representing the French National Agency for Research on AIDS and Viral Hepatitis (ANRS)]
    • (Alternate representing ANRS: Dr. Yves Lévy)
  • Dr. Ruxandra Draghia-Akli (Principal representing the European Commission)
    • (Alternate representing the European Commission: Dr. Manuel Romaris)
  • Dr. Anthony Fauci [Principal representing National Institutes of Health, US Department of Health and Human Services (NIH/NIAID)]
    • (Alternate representing NIH/NIAID: Dr. Margaret [Peggy] Johnston)
  • Ms. Cynthia Hallenbeck (Enterprise Secretary-Treasurer)
  • Madame Jeanette Kagame (First Lady of Rwanda)
  • Dr. Peter Kim (Merck Research Laboratories)
  • Dr. Helene Gayle (CARE)
  • Ms. Daisy Mafubelu (Principal representing WHO-UNAIDS)
    • (Alternate representing WHO-UNAIDS: Dr. Catherine Hankins)
  • Dr. Malegapuru (William) Makgoba (University of KwaZulu-Natal)
  • Dr. Peter Piot (Enterprise Council Chair and Board President; Imperial College London)
  • Dr. Mark Walport (Principal representing the Wellcome Trust)
    • (Alternate representing Wellcome Trust: none selected)
  • Mr. Mitchell Warren [AIDS Vaccine Advocacy Coalition (AVAC)]
  • Dr. Tachi Yamada (Principal representing the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)
    • (Alternate representing the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation: Dr. Jose Esparza)

The Enterprise Board of Directors was established to govern the organization.

Enterprise Board Members include:
  • Dr. José Esparza (Enterprise Secretariat Board Vice President; Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)
  • Ms. Cynthia Hallenbeck (Enterprise Secretariat Board Secretary and Treasurer)
  • Dr. Margaret (Peggy) Johnston [Enterprise Secretariat Board Honorary Member; National Institutes of Health, US Department of Health and Human Services (NIH/NIAID)]
  • Dr. Peter Piot (Enterprise Secretariat Board President; Imperial College London)

The Enterprise Science Committee provides strategic scientific guidance to the Enterprise Executive Director and Permanent Secretariat. The committee will play a key role in the ongoing development of the Enterprise’s revised Global Strategic Plan by helping to define scientific priorities for the HIV vaccine field, and by identifying gaps in research.

Enterprise Science Committee Members include:

  • Alan Aderem, Institute for Systems Biology
  • Rafi Ahmed (Chair), Emory University
  • Françoise Barré-Sinoussi, Institut Pasteur
  • Dennis Burton, The Scripps Research Institute
  • Larry Corey, University of Washington
  • Barton Haynes, Duke University Medical Center
  • Bette Korber, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Andrew McMichael, University of Oxford
  • Nelson Michael, MHRP
  • Gary Nabel, National Institutes of Health
  • Michel Nussenzweig, Rockefeller University
  • Giuseppe Pantaleo, University of Lausanne
  • Louis Picker, Oregon Health & Science University
  • Rino Rappuoli, Novartis Vaccines and Diagnostics
  • Robin Shattock, St George's University of London
  • Ralph Steinman, Rockefeller University
  • Anna-Lise Williamson, University of Cape Town

Ex-officio Science Committee Members include:

  • Catherine Hankins, UNAIDS
  • Margaret (Peggy) Johnston, National Institutes of Health
  • Wayne Koff, International AIDS Vaccine Initiative
  • Yves Lévy, Hôpital Henri Mondor
  • Manuel Romaris, European Commission
  • Nina Russell, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
Global HIV Vaccine Enterprise, 200 Park Ave. S. Suite 1501, New York, NY 10003 | +1 212-461-3692 or toll free at +1-866-966-4483

All Content ©2005 - 2009 Global HIV Vaccine Enterprise   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy   |   Log In / My Account